Home > Lessons > Traffic

Traffic

One of the interesting things while flying is to keep a sharp eye out for other planes, known as traffic. Planes in the pattern are fairly good announcing their position and generally making some noise that they are in the vicinity. However I’ve also had a few interesting encounters with traffic that came out of nowhere, fortunately not all that close. Once I recall looking out to my left and there about 500 or so feet away was another plane traveling in the exact opposite direction. It’s disconcerting. Wasn’t close but the surprise is sorta annoying. I mean they could announce on the CTAF that they were passing the airport, seems just polite.

Another day also on the pattern, yes all I do is fly the pattern for now, I take a look out the left side of the plane, and down a couple of hundred feet passing us at an angle is a state helicopter. Thanks very much for notifying us!

Categories: Lessons Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment